clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Portland Timbers Receive 2011 Fair Play Award

Don't say the Portland Timbers never won anything in their first year as it looks like they're taking home the trophy for "most polite."

Well, not really. In actuality, the award is for the team that committed the fewest fouls over the entire season. The Timbers came in a low 347 fouls with the Colorado Rapids coming in next at 374 fouls. Here are some additional stats:

Portland was one of just five teams to average under 1.5 yellow cards per game and its three red cards were tied for second-fewest (with Columbus Crew and Philadelphia Union) across MLS. In addition to objective criteria, MLS also looked at Disciplinary Committee action and overall sportsmanlike behavior in selecting the Timbers as the 2011 Xbox 360 Team Fair Play Award winner.

I suppose it's good news to win something, but I guess I'm also a little disappointed that the team did win this one. I mean, naturally, you want to see your home team go out and fight, give it their all, and, yes, get a few fouls. Nothing dangerous mind you, but perhaps this Fair Play award is indicative of the season as a whole. Too many games I watched the Timbers play without any fight or heart... it's not something I want to see again.

What do you think?

Oh and for some perspective here are the winners of the award since 1997:

MLS Fair Play Award – Team Winners:

2011: Portland Timbers

2010: San Jose Earthquakes

2009: Chicago Fire

2008: New England Revolution

2007: Columbus Crew

2006: Kansas City Wizards

2005: Kansas City Wizards

2004: Columbus Crew

2003: New England Revolution

2002: Kansas City Wizards

2001: San Jose Earthquakes

2000: TampaBay Mutiny

1999: Columbus Crew

1998: Kansas City Wizards

1997: Columbus Crew