clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Darlington Nagbe Win MLS Fairplay Award

Jennifer Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports

On the same day that his first call up to the United States Men's National Team, Portland Timbers midfielder Darlington Nagbe has won the 2015 MLS Individual Fair Play Award.

Over the course 33 games and 2842 minutes this year, Nagbe was fouled 87 times, second only to Sebastian Giovinco in league play, but only committed 11 fouls, never more than one in a game. Moreover, despite being on the end of a crazy number of fouls, Nagbe made it through the season without a single yellow card.

This was Nagbe's second year winning the award, having also won it in 2013.

Also in the running for the award were Nat Borchers and San Jose Earthquakes defender Marvell Wynne.

The Timbers' press release:


PORTLAND, Ore. – Major League Soccer today announced that Portland Timbers midfielder Darlington Nagbe is the recipient of the 2015 Individual Fair Play Award. 

The Fair Play Award is selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

Nagbe, 25, appeared in 33 games (all starts) for the Timbers during the 2015 regular season, moving into a tie for the club’s all-time career record in appearances (160) across all eras. Logging five goals and five assists in his fifth MLS campaign, Nagbe was the second-most fouled player (87) this season behind only Toronto FC forward Sebastian Giovinco (90). Nagbe, who earned NASR MLS Player of the Week honors for Week 34 of the regular season after registering a brace and an assist in a 4-1 win against the Colorado Rapids on Oct. 25, was not issued a yellow card in 2,842 minutes this season. Earning his American citizenship in September, Nagbe received his first call-up to the U.S. Men’s National Team on Friday for 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches against St. Vincent and the Grenadines on Nov. 13 and Trinidad and Tobago on Nov. 17.

The honor marks the second time in the last three seasons that Nagbe has received the MLS Individual Fair Play Award, also winning in 2013. He is the fifth MLS player to win the award multiple times since 1997.

Other finalists for the 2015 Individual Fair Play Award included Timbers defender Nat Borchers and San Jose Earthquakes defender Marvell Wynne.

Individual Fair Play Award - Individual Winners
2015: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers

2014: Michael ParkhurstColumbus Crew SC
2013: Darlington Nagbe – Portland Timbers
2012: Logan PauseChicago Fire
2011: Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2010: Sébastien Le Toux – Philadelphia Union
2009: Steve Ralston – New England Revolution
2008: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution 
2006: Chris KleinReal Salt Lake
2005: Ronald Cerritos – San Jose Earthquakes 
2004: Eddie Pope – MetroStars
2003: Brian McBride – Columbus Crew 
2002: Mark Chung – Colorado Rapids 
2001: Alex Pineda Chacon – Miami Fusion 
2000: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny 
1999: Steve Ralston – Tampa Bay Mutiny 
1998: Thomas Dooley – Columbus Crew 
1997: Mark Chung – Kansas City Wizards