clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Portland Thorns Release 2015 Preseason Roster

Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

With a number of players away with their national teams and several not due to join the Portland Thorns until potentially after the Women's World Cup wraps up in early July, the Thorns have invited a number of players into their preseason training camp.

Twenty-one of the fourty-two players on the Thorns' preseason roster are non-roster invitees. Meanwhile, seven of the remaining 21 players are away with their national teams and one more, newly signed Genoveva Añonma, will be joining the team after the end of the Frauen Bundesliga in Germany.

Of the players actually on the Thorns roster currently only Michelle Betos, Kendall Johnson, Emily Menges, Courtney Niemiec, Kat Williamson, Allie Long, Sarah Robbins, Mana Shim, McCall Zerboni, and Hanna Terry will be in Portland at the start of the preseason.

The non-roster invitees, primarily players one or two years removed from their college careers, are highlighted by Jamaican international forward Shakira Duncan. Since attending college at the University of West Florida, Duncan has been one of the most consistently dangerous forwards in the Carribean. Duncan most recently played for Jamaica's Harbor View FC.

Thorns preseason started yesterday and the season begins on April 11th.

The Portland Thorns press release:


PORTLAND, Ore. – Portland Thorns FC have announced their 2015 preseason roster as the team opened training for its third season in the National Women’s Soccer League.

Training began on Monday at Providence Park and will continue in preparation for the 2015 NWSL season. 

Thorns FC open the 2015 NWSL regular season with back-to-back home matches at Providence Park on April 11 against the Boston Breakers and April 18 against the Western New York Flash.

2015 Thorns FC Preseason Roster

Goalkeepers (4): Nadine Angerer**, Brittany Anghel*, Michelle Betos, Emily Kruger*

Defenders (14): Steph Catley**, Savannah Coiner*, Sarah Jackson*, Kendall Johnson, Kaylyn Kyle**, Alyssa Kleiner*, Emily Menges, Courtney Nelson*, Courtney Niemiec, Devin Prendergast*, Meredith Speck*, Rachel Van Hollebeke**, Rhian Wilkinson**, Kat Williamson

Midfielders (14): Chelsea Archer*, Kate Bennett*, Taylor Comeau*, Sinead Farrelly, Chrisalyn Fonte*, Krystyna Freda*, Tobin Heath**, Natalia Ledezma*, Allie Long, Sarah Robbins, Mana Shim, Ayaki Shinada*, Allie Sima*, McCall Zerboni

Forwards (10): Genoveva (Ayo) Añonma+, Shakira Duncan*, Melissa Fernandez*, Kelsey Haycook*, Alex Morgan**, Zuri Prince*, Danielle Schulmann*, Christine Sinclair**, Jodie Taylor**, Hanna Terry

*Non-roster invitee

**Currently with national team
+will arrive later this season

-- visit --