clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS Announces Expansion Draft Protected Lists

MLS: Sporting KC at Portland Timbers Jaime Valdez-USA TODAY Sports

We have known it was coming all year, but finally the day is here when we find out who the Portland Timbers will protect in the upcoming MLS Expansion Draft — to be held Tuesday morning at 11 a.m. PT — and who they will leave exposed to the predations of newcomers Atlanta United and Minnesota United.

The Timbers’ eleven man protected list is as follows:

  1. Fanendo Adi
  2. Diego Valeri
  3. Diego Chara
  4. Darlington Nagbe
  5. Jake Gleeson
  6. Alvas Powell
  7. Vytas
  8. Liam Ridgewell
  9. Gbenga Arokoyo
  10. Lucas Melano
  11. Darren Mattocks

As a Homegrown Player, Marco Farfan is automatically protected and need not be included on the Timbers’ protected list.

Of course, with those players off the table and the Timbers cuts announced earlier this morning, that leaves the Uniteds with Steven Taylor, Jack McInerney, Zarek Valentin, and Ben Zemanski to choose from on the Timbers roster. Also, don’t forget that the expansion sides could also take the rights to a player that the Timbers no longer have under contract, picking up the rights to a player like Neco Brett and taking the contract option that the Timbers declined.

Here is the full list of protected and unprotected players per Major League Soccer.