clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Around the Forest: Go vote for Adi

New, 5 comments

Noteworthy links from Stumptown and the rest of the web on 6/21/16.

Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

From the Wide World of Soccer:

MLS released the current All-Star voting standings and there's only one Timber present: Darlington Nagbe. Adi deserves better than that, so go vote. [MLS]

Kicking around the idea of having an domed stadium for a Phoenix expansion team. It'll be expensive and probably go poorly, but hey, we can dream! [KTAR]

Ahead of tonight's Copa matchup between the US and Argentina, a look at how Gyasi Zardes has developed. [US Soccer Players]

Matt Ufford begs Jurgen Klinsmann for once in his life, to not be Jurgen Klinsmann aka why anyone with a pulse does not want to see Kyle Beckerman. [SBNation]

"I hope Puma does not produce condoms" - if that doesn't get you to click on this link, I don't know what will. [Deadspin]

Wales won their group in the Euro yesterday with a strong 3-0 performance against Russia. Gareth Bale is the anti-Ronaldo right now. [Guardian]

Right in Stumptown:

A look at Colin O'Brady and his need to take a Timbers scarf with him as he climbed the world's tallest peaks. No, I will not let him make me feel bad about sitting on my coach and drinking beer. [Timbers.com]

Let's revisit all of the enhanced security "features" that will now be at Providence Park. [Timbers.com]

Jamie B. does a 1-on-1 with Amandine Henry. [Oregon Live]

Today's matches to watch at work:

9 AM PT / 12 PM EST

Poland vs. Ukraine
Germany vs. Northern Ireland

Story Lines: Can Poland hang on to second place (probably)? Will Germany choke, tie Northern Ireland, and end up in second (probably not)?

12 PM PT / 3 PM EST

Czech Republic vs. Turkey
Croatia vs Spain.

Story Lines: Will the Croatia/Spain game be lit due to excellent soccer, or an abundance of explosive projectiles (yes/yes)? Will Turkey score a goal in this tournament (this is an excellent prob bet)?

Copa America - 9 PM EST / 6 PM PST

United States vs. Argentina.

Story Lines: You're either in the "Oh God, just don't embarrass us" camp, or you've had a six pack already and have started chanting "I BELIEVE WE CAN WIN."