clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Timbers and Thorns honored at Oregon Sports Awards

Bringing home some bling..

Bennett Dewan

The 65th annual Oregon Sports Awards took place on Wednesday, and the Timbers and Thorns were well represented on the night.

Diego Valeri took home the co-recipient of the Harry Glickman Male Professional Athlete of the Year award, his co-winner was the Portland Trail Blazers’ point guard Damian Lillard. This is the first time that a Timbers player has been named the organization’s Harry Glickman Male Professional Athlete of the Year in the club’s MLS era.

Valeri of course won the MLS Most Valuable Player award (first time a Timber has won the award) and led the Portland Timbers to the number one seed in the Western Conference last year.

The Portland Thorns were named co-winners of the George Pasero Team of The Year award. Head Coach Mark Parsons was named a co-winner of the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year, and goalkeeper Adrianna Franch was recognized as a co-winner of the Harry Glickman Female Professional Athlete of the Year.

The Professional Athlete of the Year award is named after legendary Oregon sports promoter, executive and one of the founders of the Portland Trail Blazers: Harry Glickman. It is given to an outstanding male and female professional athlete with an Oregon background or who played for an Oregon-based team during the calendar year.

Stumptown Footy would like to say congratulations to the award winners, and here’s to many more!