clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NWSL Expansion Draft Open Thread [4p]

Racing Louisville FC please stand up!

Portland Thorns FC v OL Reign

Today is the day. Racing Louisville FC gets a chance today to build its roster for the 2021 season as the expansion draft is set to take place today at 4:00 p.m. PT. They’ll look to build their roster from a list of players from all NWSL teams. Each team set a protected list. If you’re not on the protected list, may the odds be ever in your favor.

Here’s the Thorns’ lists:

Protected Players

Unprotected Players

  • Nadine Angerer (Playing Rights)
  • Bella Bixby
  • Celeste Boureille
  • Marian Dougherty
  • Brittany Eckerstrom
  • Marissa Everett
  • Adrianna Franch (US Allocated)
  • Tobin Heath (US Allocated, Playing Rights)
  • Tyler Lussi
  • Andressa Machry (Playing Rights)
  • Nikki Marshall (Playing Rights)
  • Meagan Morris (Playing Rights)
  • Meaghan Nally
  • Emily Ogle
  • Madison Pogarch
  • Hayley Raso (Playing Rights)
  • Katherine Reynolds (Playing Rights)
  • Angela Salem
  • Becky Sauerbrunn (US Allocated)
  • Gabby Seiler
  • Katrina Tarr (Playing Rights)
  • Rachel Van Hollebeke (Playing Rights)
  • Christen Westphal
  • Sandra Yu (Playing Rights)

Here are the rules from the NWSL Website:

Racing Louisville FC may select up to two players, or one U.S. Allocated Player, from each NWSL team, and a total of two U.S. Allocated Players in total from all teams. On October 26, 2020, Chicago sent forwards Yuki Nagasato and Savannah McCaskill to Louisville in exchange for full roster protection in the expansion draft and were not required to submit a protected list. For the full 2020 Expansion Draft process and procedures, click here.

In addition, Katherine Reynolds, Jaelene Daniels, Rebecca Tweed and Nadine Angerer have announced their retirement and their playing rights currently remain with their most recent NWSL club.

The draft will take place on the NWSL Twitch Channel.