clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dunn, Franch, Horan, Sauerbrunn named to the USWNT’s Olympic Roster

Four Thorns are included in Vlatko Andonovski’s 18-player Olympic Roster.

United States v Portugal - 2021 WNT Summer Series Photo by Brad Smith/ISI Photos/Getty Images

Crystal Dunn, Adrianna Franch, Lindsey Horan and Becky Sauerbrunn were named to the U.S. Women’s National Team’s 18-player roster for the Tokyo Olympics. The Thorns have the most players of any club team represented on the USWNT roster. The roster was named on Good Morning America.

The USWNT will travel to Connecticut to play Mexico twice before leaving for the Olympic games. The U.S. vs. Mexico matches are on July 1 and July 5 and will kick off at 4:00 p.m. PST and 2:00 p.m. PST, respectively.

The U.S. start the Olympics against Sweden on July 21 at Tokyo Stadium. Three days later they will meet New Zealand in Saitama Stadium 2002. The USWNT’s final group stage match will take place in Kashima Stadium on July 27th against Australia.

Olympic Roster

GOALKEEPERS (2): Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

DEFENDERS (6): Abby Dahlkemper (Manchester City/ENG), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns FC), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage)

FORWARDS (5): Tobin Heath (Unattached), Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Unattached), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign)

Alternates (4): Jane Campbell (Houston Dash), Casey Kruger (Chicago Red Stars), Catarina Macario (Olympique Lyonnais), Lynn Williams (North Carolina Courage)