clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thorns Release Updated Roster

The Thorns prune their roster to 31, including 10 non-roster invitees.

Stacey Neve/Stumptown Footy

The Portland Thorns announced that they have made their first round of cuts of the 2015 preseason.

Surviving the pruning shears are goalkeeper Emily Kruger, defenders Savannah Coiner, Sarah Jackson, Alyssa Kleiner, Meredith Speck, midfielders Chelsea Archer, Kate Bennett, Taylor Comeau, and forwards Kelsey Haycook and Zuri Prince.

The Thorns preseason roster currently sits at 31 players, with 10 non-roster invitees still in camp, trimming their roster from 42.

With no official work on roster expansions, the Thorns will need to bring their roster to 20 active players by the beginning of the season.

In their only preseason match in the Rose City, the Thorns will take on the University of Portland Pilots this Saturday at Merlo Field at 7:00pm, with tickets available through the UP box office.

The Thorns will then travel to Arizona from March 23-29, with two preseason matches scheduled.  The Thorns then return to Portland to close out the preseason and will open the season against the Boston Breakers on April 11 at Providence Park.

Portland Thorns Press Release-


PORTLAND, Ore. – Portland Thorns FC have announced their updated 2015 preseason roster as the team continues training for its third season in the National Women’s Soccer League.

Thorns FC play a preseason match against the University of Portland on Saturday, March 21, at Merlo Field; kickoff is set for 7 p.m. (Pacific).

2015 Thorns FC Preseason Roster
Goalkeepers (3): Nadine Angerer, Michelle Betos, Emily Kruger*
Defenders (12): Steph Catley**, Savannah Coiner*, Sarah Jackson*, Kendall Johnson, Alyssa Kleiner*, Kaylyn Kyle**, Emily Menges, Courtney Niemiec, Meredith Speck*, Rachel Van Hollebeke, Rhian Wilkinson**, Kat Williamson
Midfielders (9): Chelsea Archer*, Kate Bennett*, Taylor Comeau*, Sinead Farrelly, Tobin Heath**, Allie Long, Sarah Robbins, Mana Shim, McCall Zerboni
Forwards (7): Genoveva (Ayo) Añonma+, Kelsey Haycook*, Alex Morgan**, Zuri Prince*, Christine Sinclair**, Jodie Taylor, Hanna Terry

*Non-roster invitee
**Not currently with the team
+will arrive later this season