clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here Are Your 2018 Portland Thorns

With pre-season over, it’s time to get things started for real

Nikita Taparia,

You know the season is getting near when rosters are released, and that’s exactly what your NWSL Champion Portland Thorns did today. They return a whopping 14 players from last year's championship team. Some of the players returning are top goal getters Hayley Raso and Christine Sinclair, Keeper of the Year Adrianna Franch, and NWSL Second XI selections: Lindsey Horan, Meghan Klingenberg, and Emily Menges.

There are also some fresh faces this season as the Thorns gear up to defend their crown. Brazilian international midfielder Andressinha, Australian international defender Ellie Carpenter and forward Caitlin Foord all join the team. They will come to Portland after they’ve completed with their respective countries as they qualify for the World Cup.

Also new this season: defender Midge Purce, midfielder Angela Salem, forward Ifeoma Onumonu and defender Elizabeth Ball.

Here are your 2018 Portland Thorns:

ROSTERED PLAYERS (21 of 20 spots filled):
GOALKEEPERS (2): Britt Eckerstrom, Adrianna Franch

DEFENDERS (7): Elizabeth Ball, Ellie Carpenter (INTL-AUS, PEN), Meghan Klingenberg, Emily Menges, Midge Purce (DD), Katherine Reynolds, Emily Sonnett (FED-USA)

MIDFIELDERS (5): Andressinha (INTL-BRA, PEN), Celeste Boureille, Tobin Heath (FED-USA), Lindsey Horan (FED-USA), Angela Salem (DD)

FORWARDS (7): Caitlin Foord (INTL-AUS, PEN), Tyler Lussi, Meg Morris, Ifeoma Onumonu (DD), Hayley Raso (INTL-AUS, PEN), Christine Sinclair (FED-CAN), Mallory Weber



FED – Federation Player
INTL – International Roster Spot

The Thorns will head out on the road to start the 2018 campaign against North Carolina this Saturday. This match will be televised on Lifetime as the Game of the Week, with first kick happening at 12:30 pm.